Department of Political Science

Chhaygaon College, Chhaygaon, District: Kamrup (Assam), PIN- 781124

     Date of establishment:   6th Sept., 1974  

    Present Head of the Department: Dr. Phanindra Kalita, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D (UGC NET)

   Departmental Email:

   Departmental Journal: “THE STATEMENT”

   Wall Magazine: “BIBARTAN”

      Departmental Bulletin : “REFLECTION”


 Introduction :

Chhaygaon College was established on 6th Sept. with a view to imparting higher education in the greater Chhaygaon area and the Department of Political Science was started with due permission from Gauhati University vide its Memo No-G/AFF/120/74/12495 dated 21.08.74 with Pre-University course along with the very inception of the College. The Two-Year Degree Course with General Course was introduced in the Department in 1979-80. Major in degree level was started from the session 1985-86 with due permission from Gauhati University. The Department attained necessary government concurrence and came under Deficit System of Grants-In-Aid of the Govt. of Assam w.e.f.1.2.85 vide its Letter No KDG.100/85/13. Dt. 29th March, 1985. The Department also got permanent Affiliation of Gauhati University in 2003. Dr.Nabin Ch. Sutar, Mr.Baneswar Das, Dr.Aparna Goswami and Mr. Kamal Thakuria have served as the Head of the department. At present, Dr.Phanindra Kalita has been rendering his service as the Head of the Department.

Mission & Vision :

Political Science is an ever widening subject and the need of the knowledge of Political Science is increasing day by day in the modern society. In a democratic state like India, it is essential on the part of the Citizens to have sufficient knowledge of good governance and the clear view of their rights & duties. The mission of the Department is to encourage the students to understand the various political principles and philosophical doctrines so that they can become responsible citizens in future.

Courses Offered :

The undergraduate CBCS courses (B.A. in Political Science) both for Honours& Regular are offered under Gauhati University by the Department at Degree level. In addition to that, Higher Secondary Courses under AHSEC are also taught in the Department as per rules of the Govt. of Assam.

Objectives :

The main objectives of the Department are:
  1.  To impart higher education in Political Science in degree level for Major/ Honours and General/ Regular in addition to Higher Secondary level course.
  2.  To develop socio-political consciousness among the students in particular and the society in general.
  3.  To develop a sense of understanding of the national and international political complexities among thstudents.

Faculty Members : 

Kamal Thakuria, Associate Professor, Ex.HoD, Vice-Principal

Educational Qualification: M.A., M.Phil.
Area of Interest : Sociology

Dr. Phanindra Kalita, Assistant Professor & HoD

Educational Qualification: M.A., UGC-NET, M.Phil., Ph.D
Area of Interest : Public Administration, Ethnicity and Ethnic Conflict(Plain Tribes) in North East India.

Jogen Boro, Assistant Professor

Educational Qualification: M.A. SLET
Area of Interest : Open

Jyotshna Rahang, Assistant Professor

Educational Qualification: M.A., NET
Area of Interest : Open

Bishnu Saud, Assistant Professor (Contractual)

Educational Qualification: M.A.
Area of Interest : Open